Lionel Messi: the forward of the national team of Argentina became the best player of the year according to FIFA


Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi has been named the Best Men’s Player of the Year at the Best Fifa Awards 2022.

The 35-year-old footballer was ahead of French forwards Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema.

Messi captained Argentina at the World Cup in Qatar and scored 27 goals in 49 games for club and country in the 2021-22 season.

Barcelona soccer player Alexia Putellas was recognized as the women’s player of the year.

Messi, who won the award for the second time, said: “It’s amazing. It’s been an amazing year and I’m honored to be here and win this award. I wouldn’t be here without my teammates.

“I have achieved the dream I have been hoping for for so long. Very few people can achieve that and I’m lucky enough to do it.”

At the ceremony in Paris Lionel Scaloni who led Argentina to its third World Cup title, was named Men’s Coach of the Year.

Scaloni beat Pep Guardiola, who led Manchester City to a sixth Premier League title, and Real Madrid’s Champions League-winning manager Carlo Ancelotti.

Head coach of the England national team Sarina Wigman was named Women’s Coach of the Year after leading the Lionesses to European Championship glory on home soil last year, the team’s first major trophy.

The player of “Aston Villa” and the national team of Argentina was recognized as the best goalkeeper among men Emiliano Martinez, and Wednesday women received the award Englishwoman Mary Earps.

Martinez, 30, helped his country win the World Cup by saving four penalties, including a penalty shootout winner against France in the final.

On receiving his award, Martinez said, “They always ask me who my idols are or who I watched when I was a kid… watching my mom clean buildings for eight or nine hours and watching my dad work. They are my idols.”

Earps, who plays for Manchester United in the Women’s Super League, started all six of England’s games at Euro 2022 when she won the competition.

She said: “For those who have been in a dark place, just know there is a light at the end of the tunnel so keep going. You can achieve anything you set your mind to.”

Football player with amputated limbs Marcin Oleksy from the Polish “Varta” from Poznan received the FIFA Puskas Award for the best goal of the year. With the help of crutches, he sent a stunning shot from the air into the goal of “Steel” from Rzeszów, which flew into the goal.

He received the award for fair play Luka Lohoshvili, who held his opponent Georg Teigle’s tongue to save his life after the midfielder fell unconscious.

Fifpro Men’s World Cup XI: Thibaut Courtois; Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo; Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro; Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe.

Full list of winners:

Best Men’s Player: Lionel Messi

The best player among women: Alexia Putellas

The best goalkeeper among men: Emiliano Martinez

The best goalkeeper among women: Mary Earps

Best Men’s Trainer: Lionel Scaloni

Best Women’s Trainer: Sarina Vigman

“Best Puskas” award: Marcin Oleksy

Award for the best fan: Argentina fans

Best Fair Play Award: Luka Lohoshvili

Share post:



More like this