This year, the “Kyiv pectoral” award will be presented in three nominations


Representatives of the theater community will be awarded “For personal contribution”, “Event of the year” and “Special award”.

On March 27, on International Theater Day, the capital will host a solemn ceremony honoring the best theater artists and awarding the “Kyiv Pectoral” theater award based on the results of 2022.

During the thirtieth ceremony, worthy representatives of the theater community will be awarded in three nominations: “For personal contribution”, “Event of the year”, “Special award”.

“At the award ceremony, those who participated in the birth of relevant works of stage art shrouded in war, those who affirm the invincibility of Ukraine with their daily work, elevate the patriotic spirit and nurture the new vital unity of the Ukrainian people,” the organizers note.

The Kyiv Pectoral City Theater Award was founded on the initiative of the Kyiv City Branch of the National Union of Theater Actors of Ukraine in 1992. The prize is awarded annually, based on the results of the calendar year that has passed.

It became the first professional theater award in Ukraine and the CIS. This is recognition and honoring of the best actors, directors, representatives of other creative professions related to theater art.

The “Kyiv pectoral” was awarded for the first time on March 27, 1993. Since then, the prize has been awarded annually, as a rule, on this day or a date close to the International Theater Day.

The laureates of the “Kyiv Pectoral” theater award at one time were: Bohdan Stupka, Ada Rogovtseva. Bohdan Beniuk, Anatoliy Hostikoev, Oleksiy Bogdanovich, Valeriya Zaklunna, Yevgenia Miroshnichenko and many other outstanding stage artists.

Usually, applicants for the award are considered annually in 14 main nominations. In addition, there are nominations whose laureates are determined by the Organizing Committee, namely: “For significant contribution to the development of theatrical art” and “Event of the year”.

In 2016, a new, 17th nomination was introduced – the “Special Award”, which is awarded to an individual theater actor (artist) or theater group for a special creative achievement.

However, time makes its adjustments. In 2021, the award was presented in four nominations, and in 2022, an art event was held for Theater Day, without awarding the award.

Share post:



More like this